After a four year wait Triptykon are back with their brand new album Melana Chasmata in April. To celebrate this great occasion they’ve also announced details of a special edition of upcoming single ‘Breathing’.


Melana Chasmata will be the gothic tinged Swiss outfit’s second album after their 2010 debut Eparistera Daimones and is set to be released on April 14 in Europe (April 15 in North America). Before that however, Century Media are releasing a collector’s edition gatefold 7” vinyl single featuring two songs from the album; the 13-minute ‘Breathing’ and ‘Boleskine House’.


This will be available on March 17 but is limited to just 1000 copies (800 black vinyl and 200 transparent red vinyl). It is available to pre-order via the Century Media website here at €8.99 for the black version or €9.99 for red.


Digital versions of the tracks (including a digital booklet) will also be available; along with them being streamed through YouTube and Soundcloud from March 17, so don’t despair if you miss out on the physical version.


Once again the album was produced by Triptykon’s legendary singer/guitarist Tom G Warrior and fellow guitarist V. Santura and recorded at Santura’s Woodshed Studio in Germany and the band’s rehearsal facilities in Zurich, Switzerland. With Melana Chasmata roughly translating as ‘black, deep depressions/valleys’ expect more heavy, doom atmospherics.


Triptykon will be appearing at Roadburn in April and Maryland Deathfest in May, before they’re back in Europe for Germany’s Rock Hard Festival and Belgium’s Graspop in June, then Neuborn Open Air Festival at the end of August.


Melana Chasmata tracklisting is as follows:

1. Tree Of Suffocating Souls
2. Boleskine House
3. Altar Of Deceit
4. Breathing
5. Aurorae
6. Demon Pact
7. In The Sleep Of Death
8. Black Snow
9. Waiting

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.