Legendary Norwegian black metal pioneers Mayhem have released a brand new song, their first recorded material since 2007 album Ordo Ad Chao.


Back with most of the line-up from that period, consisting of original bassist Necrobutcher alongside infamous drummer Hellhammer and vocalist Attila Csihar, they’re now joined by guitarist and ex-live member of Gorogorth, God Seed and 1349, Teloch, set to make his Mayhem debut on the band’s fifth studio album due out later this year.


‘Psywar’ is the first slice of music from the as-yet-untitled album and available to pre-order in two different limited edition 7” formats through Season Of Mist Records. With artwork designed by Zbigniew Bielak (Absu, Deströyer 666, Ghost, Watain) either a black or grey vinyl is available for the European versions, each limited to just 500 copies and available to pre-order here.  The US versions include artwork by Costin Chioreanu (Darkthrone, At The Gates, Triptykon, Roadburn Festival) and come in grey and red versions.


The release date of the new album is yet to be announced but with pre-orders of the single being shipped out on April 25 it can be guessed a summer release could be on the cards.


In the meantime listen to ‘Psywar’ below and get learning those lyrics!


Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.