We’ve joined forces with our good friends at Season Of Mist to bring you a new video from Norway’s Vulture Industries.

The Norwegian coastal city of Bergen is famous for its vibrant rock and metal scene. Surrounded by fjords and mountains, this beautiful but rain-ridden place would be associated with black metal by most people, yet Vulture Industries are of a very different breed. The Tower explores dark musical vistas with a unique mixture of progressive, experimental, industrial, doom, extreme and even symphonic elements. This amalgamate of styles may conveniently be dubbed avant-garde metal, which can be further explained by drawing possible comparisons with Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Arcturus, Devin Townsend, Ved Buens Ende and The Cult. Starting out as Dead Rose Garden in 1993, they changed members and consequently the band’s name to Vulture Industries in 2003. Now the band consists of current and former members of Sulphur, Black Hole Generator, Malice In Wonderland and Syrach.

After two demos The Sleeper (2003) and The Enemy Within (2004), which captured attention in progressive circles, the EP The Benevolent Pawn (2005) was the first official release. It was followed by two full-length albums, namely The Dystopia Journals (2007) and The Malefactor’s Bloody Register (2010). Both releases gained high critical acclaim and praise from the fans alike. With Arcturus in hibernation, Vulture Industries easily claimed the throne of Norwegian dark progressive metal. Now the band from Bergen takes another step in their steadily climbing career. The Tower was recorded at the Conclave & Earshot Studios in Bergen (Enslaved, Audrey Horne, Helheim, Taake) and produced by frontman Bjørnar E. Nilsen. The mixing was excellently handled by Enslaved keyboarder Herbrand Larsen and the album was mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Katatonia, Devin Townsend, Ihsahn). The Tower is yours to climb…

You can order The Tower, which out now, at this location!

Full tracklisting:
1. The Tower
2. Divine – Appalling
3. The Hound
4. Blood on the Trail
5. The Dead Won’t Mind
6. A Knife between Us
7. The Pulse of Bliss
8. Sleepwalkers
9. Lost among Liars
10. Blood Don’t Eliogabalus (bonus track)

VultureIndustries2013_2_smallVulture Industries is:
Bjørnar Erevik Nilsen: vocals, keys and improvised percussion
Øvyind Madsen: guitars & backing vocals
Eivind Huse: guitars & backing vocals
Kyrre Teigen: bass & backing vocals
Tor Helge Gjengeda: drums & backing vocals

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com