We’ve joined forces with Indie Recordings to premiere the video for the title track from Azusa’s brand new album, Heavy Yoke.

Comprising members of Extol, The Dillinger Escape Plan and Sea + Air, the band are – unsurprisingly – sonically experimental. Reflecting on life’s existential mysteries, their lyrics seek to explore cognitive dissonances at the crossroads of upbringing, mysticism, belief and betrayal.

The band comments: “The musical elements in Heavy Yoke are constantly challenging the song’s center line and balance point. While the acrobatic riffing insists on taking the tune off-track, the vocal lines add an anchoring sense of stability within the chaos. The opening riff is a precarious rollercoaster and one of the more jarring, yet thrilling rides on the whole album. After the intro drop, the chorus catches you in a cushion of harmony, leaving you feeling secure and ready to take that ride again. Thematically, Heavy Yoke deals with those unspeakable truths lurking in the subconscious mind. You can ignore them for a while but sooner or later they‘ll haunt you in the night. When you finally wake yourself up and let the daylight in, its healing powers reveal universal truths which bring clarity and relief.”

The album is released on 16 November, but you can preorder a copy at this location. Digital pre-orders are here.

Full album tracklisting:
1. Interstellar Islands
2. Heart Of Stone
3. Heavy Yoke
4. Fine Lines
5. Lost In The Ether
6. Spellbinder
7. Programmed To Distress
8. Eternal Echo
9. Iniquitous Spiritual Praxis
10. Succumb To Sorrow
11. Distant call

Azusa is: 
Eleni Zafiriadou (Sea + Air) – Voice
Liam Wilson (The Dillinger Escape Plan) – Bass
Christer Espevoll (Extol) – Guitars
David Husvik (Extol) – Drums

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.