Soen announce new album ‘Imperial’ for January 2021 release

The provocative, imperious and engaging Swedish-based metal group Soen will unveil their fifth album, Imperial, via Silver Lining Music on 29 January 2021. Founder members Joel Ekelöf (vocals) and Martin Lopez (drums), along with Lars Enok Åhlund (keyboards and guitar), Oleksii “Zlatoyar” Kobel (bass) and Cody Ford (lead guitar) have never shied away from challenging our perceptions of life and humanity, and Imperial continues Soen’s journey through the psyche of our species and the conundrum of our times.

Produced by Iñaki Marconi and the band, Imperial was mixed and mastered by Kane Churko, who has worked with the likes of Ozzy Osbourne. Soen’s dynamics are more completely executed and honed than ever before, something which is perversely a product of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“It has obviously been a crazy, terrible thing for everyone, and for us as a band it has been really frustrating not being able to play shows,” says Martin Lopez, “but also it has given us a clear window of opportunity to realise this album completely. We were able to spend 12 hours a day for many months bringing Imperial to the place we truly wanted, mainly working on the groove and flow of the album.”

Joel Ekelöf inputs: “As we continue, we find inspiration in the sad fact that the world is getting more and more polarised, that it’s more complex and it’s not consensus or people getting along.” says Ekelöf “We continue to try and understand why and how that will affect us all.” 
Imperial will be released on 29 January 2021 via Silver Lining Music. Available as a CD Digipak, Vinyl Album, digital formats and special D2C bundles. For pre-orders, go to

  1. Lumerian
  2. Deceiver
  3. Monarch 
  4. Illusion
  5. Antagonist
  6. Modesty
  7. Dissident
  8. Fortune

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.