Norwegian black metallers Sarkom have announced that they have signed a two-album deal with Dark Essence Records, who will release the band’s third studio opus ‘Doomsday Elite’, later this year. The band, which functions around core members, vocalist Unsgaard and bassist Sgt. V. will soon be announcing a new live line-up, in time for said forthcoming album’s release. Unsgaard had this to say about the band’s signing to Dark Essence:


“We are very much looking forward to working with everyone at the label.   I’ve heard a lot of positive things, and hopefully they are in the right position to take Sarkom one step further on this journey of ours!”


Regarding Sarkom’s current standing in the black metal scene, the front-man commented:


“It is said that black metal is about individuality and not following trends.  I am not saying that Sarkom is a Black Metal band, but it sure is extreme enough and most likely that is how we will be categorised. Personally I don’t mind what label people tag us with, but with this album I can say that we have gone beyond the borders of what is accepted within the “scene”, at least the scene as defined by those who see themselves as “true”.  According to the trend nowadays, which has absolutely nothing to do with what Black Metal is actually about, we should probably have played either old school heavy/prog or occult trash/black metal to gain maximum publicity. But fuck that. We do what we want and that’s exactly how it should be.  We also have no intention of repeating ourselves and it is my hope, and intention, that Sarkom will keep developing in the future, in one way or the other.”


As for the musical direction of ‘Doomsday Elite”, Unsgaard revealed there may be a few surprises:


“I am sure that some Sarkom fans are expecting another ‘Bestial Supremacy’ and they will be surprised by ‘Doomsday Elite’.  With four songwriters from different backgrounds this is, and is meant to be, an album without boundaries. Hopefully you will like it, but if not, you can always listen to Skyforger or something”.


The full track listing for ‘Doomsday Elite’ is, as follows:


1. Doomsday Elite

2. I Utakt Med Gud

3. No Loose Ends

4. Inside a Haunted Chapel

5. Predators in Disguise

6. Solemn Disorder ‘til Human Extinction

7. Cosmic Intellect

8. Stigma


For more updates visit Sarkom’s official Facebook page.

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.