Canadian warrior Thor is back with new album Thunderstryke II, set to be released in early February.


On the follow-up to 2012’s compilation album Thunderstryke, the self-titled ‘king of muscle rock’ pays homage to the many guitarists he’s worked with over a 41-year music career. This includes tributes to, and appearances from, the likes of Frank Soda, Steve Price, Frank Meyer, Bruce Duff, Mike Kischnick, Mick Hoffman, Steve Stack and more.


Much like the first Thunderstryke, it will be a compilation of new, old, unreleased and re-arranged tracks from the ‘70s and early ‘80s; arguably Jon Mikl Thor’s finest years. ‘Megaton Man Returns’, ‘We Live To Rock Again’ and ‘When The Hammer Falls’ are just a few of the songs set to appear.


The bodybuilder turned rocker hasn’t released an album full of new material since 2009’s Sign Of The V, but at the back end of 2013 did unveil the 7” single Energy (also on Thunderstryke II), limited to 555 copies and featuring exclusive tracks ‘King Of Muscle Rock’ and ‘Storm Warning’. In the meantime Thunderstryke II should keep fans happy with its classic Thor sound and empowering/hilarious (depending on your view) artwork courtesy of Simon Williams.


Thunderstryke II is released on February 1 through Rock Saviour Records. Watch a preview below.


Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.