Last time we had heard of Runemagick was back in 2007, when Nicklas Rudolfsson [guitar / vocals], his wife Emma and drummer Daniel Moilanen (who would later join Katatonia) released their 11th full-length Dawn Of The End. Although the band was initially formed in 1990 with future Death Breath and Deathwitch member Robert Pehrsson on a far more black/death basis, by the time the band had become Rudolfsson’s sole creative vehicle, it had gravitated towards a doomier, more atmospheric and epic sound.

After an 11-year hiatus during which Rudolfsson focused more on other projects such as Heavydeath, and as the band has announced their first live show in over a decade at this years’ Killtown Deathfest in Copenhagen in September, they’ve just announced the release of their forthcoming 12th long-player aptly-titled Evoked From Abysmal Sleep, due out in late-June through Aftermath Music. According to Rudolfsson, this first epic track is fairly representative of the “pretty straight-forward nature” of the album, elaborating that it is “not very experimental nor full of strange arrangements but classic Runemagick mid-tempo riffing with a lot of melodies.”

The album was mixed and mastered by Rudolfsson Heavydeath and Necrocurse comrade Johan Bäckman and will be available on multiple formats, including an extremely limited ‘deluxe’ CD box version with burned logo and will include eight tracks, plus two additional interludes on the digital version.

You can check out the track ‘Runes Of The Undead’ below. Pre-orders are available at this location.

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.