Finnish Kuolemanlaalso (“Death Valley”), have set to release their debut album on November 23, 2012 via Svart Records.  The album, entitled “Uljas Uusi Maailma” (“Brave New World”), features members from Swallow the Sun, Chaosweaver, and Barren Earth.


Their name deriving from one of the most desolate, bleak and utterly grave places on Earth, Kuolemanlaakso has aimed to create a “tragically beautiful world if its own.”


The group which fully formed in spring 2010 began as the solo project of guitarist Laakso (Chaosweaver), who drew much inspiration from albums such as “Eparista Daimones,” (Triptykon), which guided the group’s first steps into darkness.


The group, who’s desired mission was to create a new sinister and deadly album, kept all of the lyrics in Finnish, and drew further inspiration from the mystique of the Finnish Forests and the morbidness of the modern world.


The new album was recorded at Woodshed Studios in Germany, operated by Victor Bullock a.k.a. V. Santura (Triptykon, Dark Fortress).  Santura co-produced, mixed, mastered and engineered the album, as well as provided guest guitars on five tracks.


Band Members:

Kotamäki (Swallow the Sun, Barren Earth) – Vocals
Laakso (Chaosweaver) – Guitar, Keyboards
Kouta (Chaosweaver, ex-Verjnuarmu) – Guitar
Usva (Elenium, The Niburuan) – Bass
Tiera (Discard, Cult of Endtime) – Drums


“Uljas Uusi Maailma” track listing:

1. Minä Elän (“I Live”)
2. Kuun Lapset (“Children Of The Moon”)
3. Nostos & Algos
4. Roihusydän (“Blaze Heart”)
5. Etsin (“Searching”)
6. Ikiuni (“The Eternal Sleep”)
7. Uljas Uusi Maailma (“Brave New World”)
8. Aurinko (“The Sun”)


Check out the band’s studio diary HERE


Visit them on Facebook


Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com