From All Purity, the fifth album from Chicago doomsters Indian, will be released via Relapse Records on 17 January 2014 in Germany, Benelux and Finland; in the UK/World on 20 January; and in North America on 21 January 2014.


Indian’s debut EP God Slave of 2003 was a self-released statement, introducing the world to the band’s twisting, bleak sounds.  Their first three full-lengths – The Unquiet Sky (2005), Slights And Abuse (2007), and The Sycophant (2008) – were all issued through Portland’s Seventh Rule Recordings. Each of these releases saw the band honing their sound and gaining momentum. By 2010, Indian had joined Relapse and in 2011 spawned their fourth album, Guiltless.


Recorded at Electrical Audio and Soma Studios in Chicago with engineer/co-producer Sanford Parker (Minsk, Nachtmystium, Yob, Samothrace), Indian’s upcoming LP “is a taunting exercise in auditory hate and despair; a physically and psychologically jarring collision of tar-black doom, sprawling waves of noise and scathing outbursts of pain.”


Indian have played with heavyweights such as Wolves In The Throne Room, Locrian and Agalloch. On 12 April 2014, Indian will make a European appearance at Roadburn Festival.

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.