Fenriz waxes lyrical over new Darkthrone album, Astral Fortress

Norwegian black metal legends Darkthrone today release their latest album, Astral Fortess, via Peaceville Records.

We’re delighted that the always interesting Fenriz has shared some personal thoughts on the new album which you can listen to right here.

Astral Fortress was recorded at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo, the same location used for the band’s last album Eternal Hails.

Fenriz says: As usual, Ted makes music by playing himself and riffs just come to me. I think since 2016’s Arctic Thunder, we have mostly been inspired by our own back catalogue. I can hear many of my riffs eventually sounding like a plethora of bands but this seldom seems to correlate with what others hear.

“As you’ll know by now, I never talk about the lyrics or the inspiration behind them and I would never want any lyrics that I like of others to be explained to me but I will tell you this, it is darker than ever, it is seething with hell.”

You can order the album here.

Astral Fortress track listing 

1. Caravan Of Broken Ghosts [07:53] 

2. Impeccable Caverns Of Satan [05:34] 

3. Stalagmite Necklace [05:22] 

4. The Sea Beneath The Seas Of The Sea [10:10] 

5. Kevorkian Times [04:27] 

6. Kolbotn, West Of The Vast Forests [01:54] 

7. Eon 2 [04:40]

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com