We’re quite partial to a bit of Ewigkeit here at ZT HQ – and it’s been a long while since we heard any new material from James Fogarty’s solo-project. So when we heard that he had a new album on the way it made complete sense to arrange an interview for the magazine, the results of which will be inked on paper for issue 080 and on the racks from 17 August 2017. In the meantime, there’s a lyric video for the [dare we say it, catchy] track ‘Death Is The Portal’ circulating in cyberspace that we’re more than happy to draw your attention to.

It’s also great to see that the artist has been picked up by Finland’s finest purveyors of musical misfits Svart Records, which is a really fitting home for the artist.

Here’s the official line, which is such a fair assessment we’re not even going to attempt to re-write it for this news piece: Fresh from helping to resurrect In The Woods…, prolific underground metal artist James Fogarty then immediately began to reconstruct his long-running solo effort Ewigkeit and record the new album Cosmic Man, which is set for international release on July 14th via Svart Records. With a history of creating novelty, James’ newest Ewigkeit release is not without its own enigma.

Lyrically melding the motifs of Terence McKenna and the psychedelic counter-culture with the music of the various rocks, metals, and alloys, Cosmic Man takes you from the haze of the early ’70s via a NWOBHM detour, followed by a refuel and oil-change at extreme metal.  From then on, it’s out with the star-charts for a left turn at Alpha Centauri and straight down the inter-galactic highway toward the transcendental object at the end of time.

Have a listen to ‘Death Is the Portal’ and see what you think:

Ewigkeit’s Cosmic Man is a potential psycho-pomp for the discerning existential metal fan: a musical journey through the kaleidoscopic and carnivalesque and, ultimately, piercing the veil of physical death in a confrontation with the unknown.  Additionally, another new track, ‘Cold Souls’, can be heard here also via at Svart’s Soundcloud:

Cosmic Man full tracklisting:
1. Quantum Eraser
2. Cold Souls
3. Death is the Portal
4. Neon Ghoul Ride
5. Space Horse
6. Running Away from the Circus
7. Thief in the Sky
8. Time Travelling Medicine Man
9. Back to Beyond
10. Two Minutes to Midnight

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com