68498_573916219305637_1906871986_nAfter Cobalt’s highly acclaimed, first ever tour in 2013, the band appeared to riding the crest of a wave, ready to unleash the USBM album of the century. Yet 2014 turned out to be disastrous for the duo from Colorado, with vocalist Phil McSorley given the boot following a series of controversial altercations on social media. Mainman Erik Wunder has soldiered on alone, and will soon be hitting the studio to record the band’s first album in six years.

In a recent interview Erik Wunder revealed more details on Slow Forever, the band’s highly anticipated follow-up to 2009’s Gin. The new record will feature nine songs, and possibly will be the longest Cobalt album to date. As per the last two albums, Wunder has written all of the guitar, drums and bass, and will head to Flatline Audio in Denver in June to record. Even though McSorley is no longer part of the band, the album title and the first song on the album, “Hunt the Buffalo”, were thought up by himself and Wunder. As for his replacement, Wunder has given us no clues as to who it might be, but what we can be sure of is that he or she will be contributing heavily towards the lyrics. The album is expected to be released at the end of this year or the start of 2016 on Profound Lore Records.

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.