Some of us here are ZT are long in the tooth enough to have got quite excited hearing of new music from Chicago’s Usurper – it’s been 14 long years since their last full-length, with them disbanding in 2007 – re-establishing themselves (quietly!) in 2015… It is with great pleasure then that we’re pleased to collaborate with their now-label Soulseller Records to unleash ‘Warlock Moon’, the fifth track from brand new album Lords Of The Permafrost

The album will be released on 22 March, but get your ears around this in the meantime!

Formed in 1993, Usurper released their first demo in 1994. Since then, the band have recorded five full-lengths, one mini album, a rarities CD and toured 17 different countries around the world. Usurper’s blend of ’80s inspired thrash metal, classic heavy metal anthems, over-the-top chaos and hints of dark, melodic atmosphere have been a trademark of the band since day one; they don’t preach any political/religious ideologies, or sing about any socially relevant topics. Instead, werewolfs, monster folklore, alien invasions, ancient civilizations, ancient battles, cryptozoological creatures, hauntings, prophecies, time travel, and the paranormal – in addition to their trademark ‘metal anthems’ – are the essence of their lyrical themes, which combined with their music and artwork create a strange fantasy world of dark heavy metal horror.

Lords Of The Permafrost was recorded and produced between July and August 2018 at Electrical Audio, Chicago by the band and Taylor Hales and features a cover artwork by Juha Vuorma. The band states: “After a 14 year hiatus, Usurper are proud to return with our sixth full-length album entitled Lords Of The Permafrost. Back when we formed in 1993, we had the goal to create heavy, memorable songs with the anthemic quality of traditional heavy metal, combined with the heaviness of death metal, the fury of thrash metal, the atmosphere of black metal and the straight-forward, ass-kicking of ’70s hard rock…. 25 years later, we feel we have stayed true to our original objective and have recorded the quintessential Usurper album. Lyrically these songs explore topics such as monster folklore, the paranormal and other obscure tales, all while being delivered with a lethal dose of heavy metal bravado. Usurper never have, and never will chase trends. We have only returned to bring our next chapter of metal to the Worldwide Warriors of Iron and Rust, and kick maximum ass!”

Full tracklist:
1. Skull Splitter
2. Beyond the Walls of Ice
3. Lords of the Permafrost
4. Cemetery Wolf
5. Warlock Moon
6. Gargoyle
7. Black Tide Rising
8. Mutants of the Iron Age

Usurper is:
Rick Scythe: Guitars & Backing Vocals
Joe Warlord: Drums & Percussion
Dan Tyrantor: Vocals
Scott Maelstrom: Bass

Check out the current issue of ZT for an interview and a review of the new album.

“The band displays a heaviness that is accessible without redlining the guitar sound into ear fatigue territory, and while Joe may be an apocalyptic warlord, his wavering meter and charming flubs make this a display of heart and soul instead of more perfection and factory setting metal ennui.” ZT’s Kevin Stewart-Panko 4.5 out of 6

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.