Agathodaimon reveal second single from new album

AGATHODAIMON’s comeback, seven years after their release of In Darkness, is one not to miss: The Seven, the seventh studio album of the German frontrunners, will be released on March 18, via Napalm Records. Agathodaimon’s brand new 10-track offering stays true to their old-school spirit hits with new vigour, one hard to pigeonhole due to its widespread musical styles, creating gloomy atmospheres with sharp growls and insane clear vocals. Prepare for an exceptional sonic universe!

Let yourself be consumed by Agathodaimon’s obscure second single ‘Wolf Within’, released today with a gloomy lyric video. Take a look here…

Founder, bandleader and guitarist Sathonys says: “We wanted to show a different side of the album with this song. While the first single sounded primarily aggressive and brute, ‘Wolf Within’ is just as dark, but a good bit more melodic and thanks to some quiet passages and Ashtrael’s clear vocals also quite memorable. Enjoy this pre-taste of the upcoming album, and be sure to check out the lyric video, as it features some of the excellent artwork created to illustrate The Seven.”

The Seven is released via Napalm Records on 18 March and you can order here.

Formed in 1995 and entering the scene with their debut, Blacken the Angel, in 1998, bandleader Sathonys was temporarily forced to put Agathodaimonon hold in 2014 due to private circumstances. But the irrevocable fire of the band and their fans never went out, seeking a reawakening of this sonic, seething beast. The unit’s massive new outburst, The Seven, reveals extreme soundscapes amid a captivating concoction of evil, provoking, cutting dark metal and heroic symphonic black metal in the style of bands like Cradle of Filth and Carach Angren, but with their unique and very own multifaceted take. Thematically, as hinted by the album’s title, the full-length is centered around the momentous and symbolically powerful number seven and the seven deadly sins – sloth, greed, lust, gluttony, pride, wrath, envy – on ten tracks total, all addressed with religious themes that contrast with human beings and its original nature.

Sathonys about the album: “Well, we took our time in creating this album. We had to make sure we (can) work together as a band after all these years, that the chemistry is there, that it feels organic to release another album after such a long break. To cut it short, we’re really looking forward to having The Seven out, as we’re very satisfied with it. More than that, we’re proud of it. Typically, you can point a finger at one or two songs that really stand out from the rest, but here, you’ll feel the effort that was put into every song and every aspect.

“Not only in terms of songwriting, there’s also the artistic concept and visual artwork/realization delivered by the team of Credo Quia Absurdum, and excellent production under the supervision of our friend Kristian “Kohle” Kohlmannslehner (Powerwolf, Aborted, Benighted etc.). Usually you have to be prepared to make compromises. The Seven is far from that, as it is our most ambitious album to date.”

The Seven tracklist:
1. La Haine
2. Ain’t Death Grand
3. Wolf Within
4. Ghosts of Greed
5. Mother of all Gods
6. Estrangement
7. In my Dreams (Part 1 – Prelude)
8. In my Dreams (Part 2 – In Bitterness)
9. Kyrie / Gloria
10. The Divine
The Seven will be available in the following formats:
1 – LP Gatefold Ocean Blue
1 – CD Digipak + T-Shirt Bundle (Napalm Records exclusive)
1 – CD Digipak
Digital Album

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.