Since it’s released tomorrow (18 May) we’ve joined forces with those good people at Season Of Mist so that you can have a listen to Alkaloid‘s brand new album Liquid Anatomy

Taking its name from a class of chemical compounds that are often used for pharmacological ends and sometimes even possess psychotropic capabilities, Alkaloid is defined through the field of tension created between various musical opposites. The band merges extreme metal and other genres of music into a unique progressive style that the listener might somehow find familiar but has not heard its exact like yet.

Drummer Hannes Grossmann (Obscura, Necrophagist, Blotted Science) and vocalist / guitarist Morean (Dark Fortress, Noneuclid) founded Alkaloid in 2013. Their expressed goal was to extend the dynamic range used in metal to its extreme limits. A full lineup came together quickly with the addition of Christian Muenzner (Obscura, Necrophagist, Spawn Of Possession) and Danny Tunker (Aborted, God Dethroned) on guitars, and Linus Klausenitzer (Obscura) on bass.

This collective of friends started to work on their debut album The Malkuth Grimoire, which was successfully crowdfunded and self-released in March 2015. After playing shows across Europe and a special gig in Cairo, Egypt which included a video shooting for their song ‘Cthulhu,, Alkaloid are now demonstrating insanely rapid musical progression with their second album.

Liquid Anatomy combines the maturity to be expected from veterans in the field of extreme metal with the fresh approach of a band eager to explore new paths. Check it out right here, and order it from here.

Full tracklisting
1. Kernel Panic (5:42)
2. As Decreed by Laws Unwritten (8:09)
3. Azagthoth (5:38)
4. Liquid Anatomy (5:14)
5. In Turmoil’s Swirling Reaches (6:38)
6. Interstellar Boredom (5:07)
7. Chaos Theory and Practice (8:31)
8. Rise of the Cephalopods (19:42)

Alkaloid is:
Morean: vocals, guitars
Christian Muenzner: guitars
Danny Tunker: guitars, backing vocals
Linus Klausenitzer: bass
Hannes Grossmann: drums

Guest musician
Emilio Saura: additional percussion on ‘Azagthoth’.

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com