We’ve joined forces with Season Of Mist to give you the chance to listen to a new track from Earth Electric‘s forthcoming album Vol.1: Solar.

Mastermind Rune Eriksen says of the track they’re streaming here, ‘Mountains & Conquerors’: “The opening track of the album…short, sweet, and straight to the point. Together with the title song, this is one of the oldest ideas for the album. A strong mix of wild energy and positive thinking. For every mountain climbed, there is a reward…”

Earth Electric are the new exciting brainchild of Rune ‘Blasphemer’ Eriksen. The Norwegian mastermind is known and praised for his stylistically diverse output within a mostly metal framework, which includes highly acclaimed compositions for Mayhem, Aura Noir, Ava Inferi, and Twilight Of The Gods. With their debut album Vol.1: Solar, Earth Electric turn out to be a quite different beast again. Eriksen draws heavily from classic rock influences, including such giants as Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, and Pink Floyd. Those roots are hinted at rather than being clearly visible.

The band was formed by Rune Eriksen in cooperation with Ava Inferi vocalist Carmen Simões in early spring 2014, who graced the project with her ethereal soprano (which has also been enlisted by Moonspell on several recordings and live productions). The couple’s renewed cooperation was based on a mutual desire to explore today’s opportunities of creating energetic and extrovert rock. The duo enlisted the help of their friends Luigi ‘Gee’ Anzalone from Dragonforce and Doro band member Luca Princiotta, and recorded a three-track demo, simply named 2014 at Ultrasound Studio, Portugal in September 2014. After completing the demo, the two core members decided to turn towards a heavier and slightly more progressive direction, while the overall concept became more ethereal. Earth Electric added Grog and Neoplasmah bassist Alexandre Ribeiro and Ricardo Martins, who also drums for Jibóia and Papaya to their lineup. The London based keyboarder Daniel Knight from the progressive UK rock band Messenger completed the crew for the recordings.

Vol.1: Solar was mainly recorded at Orgone Studio under the direction of acclaimed producer Jaime Gomez Arellano (Ghost, Sólstafir, Primordial); Jaime was also responsible for mixing and mastering in late summer 2016. The album will see its release on 12 May 2017, but pre-orders are available at this location.

Full tracklist:
01. Mountains & Conquerors (3:08)
02. The Endless Road (3:45)
03. Meditate. Mediate (3:58)
04. The Great Vast (4:31)
05. Set Sail (Towards the Sun) (1:55)
06. Solar (5:25)
07. Sabbatical Moons (4:51)
08. Earthrise (5:06)
09. Sweet Soul Gathering (2:32)

Earth Electric is:  
Carmen Susana Simões: vocals
Rune Eriksen: guitars, vocals, FX
Alexandre Ribeiro: bass, FX
Ricardo Martins: drums & percussion, vocals
Daniel Knight: keyboards (studio)

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com