We’ve joined forces with Season Of Mist to give you an advance listen to a brand new track from Benighted. Taken from their forthcoming album Necrobreed, the track we’re previewing here features The Black Dahlia Murder’s Trevor Strnad – and it’s called ‘Forgive Me Father’.

An excited vocalist Julien Truchan comments on behalf of the band: “Hey fellows! Born from the depths of Kohlekeller Studio in Germany, we now present ‘Forgive Me Father’, the second fragment of insanity ripped from our forthcoming album Necrobreed. The track features the mighty Trevor Strnad from The Black Dahlia Murder! Sick!” Yes, we just said that ourselves didn’t we!

What Julien didn’t say that we will is that Necrobreed is due for release on February 17, and pre-orders are now up for grabs at this location.

Benighted were spawned by members from French death and black metal bands Dishumanized, Darkness Fire, and Osgiliath, who joined forces in 1998 for a more brutal, heavy and modern way of expression. When their first self-produced / self-titled full-length hit the streets in 2000, it immediately made a strong impact. This turned a side-project into a main act, and a fast-growing fanbase was formed from a string of well-received albums: Psychose (2002), Insane Cephalic Production (2004), Identisick (2006), and Icon (2007) were all enthusiastically received. In the live arena Benighted quickly started to capture audiences, which allowed them to climb up the ladder fast, with invitations landing to play all major European festivals including Neurotic Death Fest, Hellfest, Wacken, Brutal Assault, Summer Breeze, and Inferno Festival among many more.

4PAN1TWith their new full-length Necrobreed, the French seem to sidestep the steadily growing complexity of their previous albums Asylum Cave (2011)  and Carnivore Sublime (2014) by recalibrating their sound with their roots. Necrobreed is the result of modern violence combined with an undercurrent of old-school feeling; whilst the band stick to their grinding influences, classic death metal clearly shines through the fabric. Their pig squeals are backed-up by growling; crushing riffing and nuclear drumming meet subtle melodies, and hidden hooks fuel the fury.

Necrobreed saw Benighted return to record at Germany’s Kohlekeller Studio, continuing their already successful relationship. Another constant with these brutal death addicts is an album concept that’s based on a theme revolving around the abysmal potential of the human psyche. This time vocalist Julien Truchan penned lyrics concerning a schizophrenic man who has been stitching dead animals to his abdomen – who, on feeling the warmth of his infected flesh, ‘gives birth’ to the carcass and places it in his house; apparently a result of severe childhood trauma involving a dead cat. *Ahem* Moving on swiftly…

Necrobreed gives an extreme musical voice to the madness lurking within. In case of side effects, please see a doctor.

Full tracklisting
1. Hush Little Baby
2. Reptilian
3. Psychosilencer
4. Forgive Me Father
5. Leatherface
6. Der Doppelgaenger
7. Necrobreed
8. Monsters Make Monsters
9. Cum With Disgust
10. Versipellis
11. Reeks Of Darkened Zoopsia
12. Mass Grave

Julien Truchan: vocals [pictured]
Olivier Gabriel: guitar
Romain Goulon: drums
Pierre Arnoux: bass, backing vocals
Emmanuel Dalle: guitars

Guest appearances
Asphodel (Chenille): vocals on ‘Hush Little Baby’
Trevor Strnad (The Black Dahlia Murder): vocals on ‘Forgive Me Father’
Arno (Black Bomb A): vocals on ‘Cum With Disgust’

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com