We’ve joined forces with Season Of Mist to stream ‘Victim’, which is no less than a track from River Black‘s eponymous debut album. But who the devil are River Black, you ask? None other than the drummer Dave Witte’s latest musical incarnation, and he says on behalf of the band: “This one came together very quickly at the end of the writing sessions for our debut album. Actually, the whole beginning has been sitting around since 2008. We never had anything that made sense to go along with it and it just happened this time. Lyrically, it’s a kick in the pants to the unmotivated and a rallying cry for the malcontent.”

Guitarist John Adubato and drummer David Witte (Municipal Waste etc.) formed their new creative outlet after the dissolution of Burnt By The Sun. The veteran duo felt the need to keep the spirit and energy behind that former collective going, while pushing it a darker and heavier direction. To complete their dream team, Witte and Adubato recruited fellow Revocation bassist Brett Bamberger and former Burnt By The Sun collaborator Mike Olender for vocal duties.

On completion of their lineup, the band recorded their first album at New Jersey’s Trax East studio (The Dillinger Escape Plan, Hatebreed, The Black Dahlia Murder) with producer Eric Rachel (Skid Row, Municipal Waste, God Forbid).

The album is released on numerous formats on 7 July, but you can pre-order your copy at this location!

River Black tracklisting:
1. Jaws (1:59)
2. Honor (3:15)
3. Low (3:20)
4. Shipwreck (3:43)
5. River Black (0:47)
6. South by South (3:26)
7. Boat (2:32)
8. Move (3:23)
9. #Victim (3:09)
10. Sink (2:31)
11. Everywhere (4:52)

River Black is:
Mike Olender: vocals
John Adubato: guitar
Brett Bamberger: bass
Dave Witte: drums

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com