Norway’s death metal madmen Obliteration have signed to Relapse Records in North America, the label has announced.


Obliteration recently finished recording their new album at their home studio in Kolbotn, which will be released later this year through Relapse, for North America, and Indie Recordings, for the rest of the world.


The label stated that it is “extremely proud to announce the North American signing of Oslo, Norway’s death metal warriors Obliteration!” and vocalist/guitarist Sindre Solem commented on the union, saying: “We in Obliteration are extremely psyched that Relapse Records are going to handle the American release of our upcoming LP. Relapse have a long stream of quality metal releases, and their reach is vast, so we are honoured and confident that Relapse Records will do a stellar job in spreading the word of Obliteration. Onward hail!”


According to their label bio, Obliteration formed in 2001 and consist of Sindre Solem (guitar/vocals); Arlid Myren Torp (guitar); Didrik Telle (bass); and Kristian Valbo (drums). The band have released one EP, 2005’s ‘Total Fucking Obliteration’, and two full-lengths, ‘Perpetual Decay’ (2007) and ‘Nekropsalms’ (2009), “to much critical acclaim in the metal underground. Combining a cosmic blend of old school death metal mixed with the best elements of doom, punk, thrash and primitive black metal, the band has quickly built a name for themselves with their unique, repulsive style.”

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite. http://store.ztmag.com