Blood From The Soul reawaken with new album ‘DSM-5’

After nearly 30 years lying dormant, experimental-metal project Blood From The Soul have announced details of the release of their second album – DSM-5.

The vision of legendary Napalm Death low-ender Shane Embury, the previous permutation of Blood From The Soul (which included Sick Of It All vocalist Lou Koller) released their debut, To Spite The Hand That Bleeds, way back in 1993.

Since then the band has lain dormant – perhaps understandably, considering Embury not only holds down bass duties for Napalm death, but is also involved with acts including Venomous Concept, Tronos, Brujeria and Lock Up to name a few.

27 years on and Blood From The Soul are out of hyper sleep and back with a vengeance. Re-energised with the addition of Converge vocalist Jacob Bannon, Megadeth/Soilwork drummer Dirk Verbeuren and Nasum bassist Jesper Liveröd, Blood From The Soul has given violent birth to DSM-5; a 12-track concept record written from the perspectives of human beings and sentient machines that explores the relationship between consciousness and physical/psychological decay.

DSM-5 tracklisting:
1. Fang Tooth Claw
2. Ascend The Spine
3. Calcified Youth
4. Debris Of Dreams
5. Dismantle The Titan
6. Encephalon Escape
7. Subtle Fragment
8. Terminal Truth
9. Sharpened Heart
10. Self Deletion
11. Lurch Of Loss
12. DSM-5

Set to drop digitally via Deathwish on 13 November 2020 (with physical versions to follow), you can pre-order DSM-5 here.

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.