Scheduled for a November 25th release date, record label Real Gone Music in collaboration with The Obsessed, will reissue the band’s only major label album, “The Church Within,” both on CD and double vinyl, complete with original artwork as well as additional photos and two bonus tracks; the b-side single track “Mental Kingdom” and the unreleased “Melancholy Grey.”


Originally released in 1994, “The Church Within” wound up being the group’s third and final album before disbanding.  “The Church Within describes my philosophy on being; it’s really not what’s around you — man made denominations, expectations of others — but what’s in your heart, exaltation of spirit and freedom of soul,” comments The Obsessed mainman, and doom pioneer, Scott “Wino” Weinrich.  “This record was the culmination of a lot of inspiration, frustration, ecstasy, anger, hope and futility. Its resurrection is testimony to the relevance of this music in our lives past and present, thank you…for believing.”


Known briefly as ‘Warhorse,’ the late 70s would see the band change its name to The Obsessed, however it was not until the early 1980s that their demos began to circulate, and it would not be until the early 1990s that official full-length albums would be released, following Wino’s departure from Saint Vitus.  A number of EPs and singles were released sporadically throughout the 80s and 90s, including a compilation released by Southern Lord Records in 1999.  In 2006, MeteorCity reissued the group’s second album “Lunar Womb” complete with new liner notes and pictures.


Pre-orders are currently underway via or


Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.