“Global Flatline”

Century Media Records


Just by looking at the album cover, what metal fan wouldn’t get excited about the new Aborted?  Hideous images of decaying corpses consuming their own entrails in an apocalyptic wasteland.  This is a dead give-away that this album will be packed to the hilt with the brutal gore and stellar guitar work that Aborted are known for.  And better yet, this is a great way to start the new year, with a nice solid album to blast out loud.


The album starts out with a sample quote saying “I’m gonna fucking rape your soul!”  That pretty much sets the stage for the rest of the album; its hard-hitting, brutal, and hints at a return to their previous work.  In this day and age, bands often compete for what I will call “The Battle of Technicals,” often flooding their music with complicated rhythms and drum beats in an attempt to convey a more impressive flair.  Personally, I’d rather have a band that sprinkles their music with such characteristics instead of making 50 minutes of strange musical patterns.  Aborted seemed to have tackled this flawlessly with “Global Flatline.”  The drum beats are rather impressive and technical, but the mixture with the vocal lines and guitar riffs make this much less of a musical frenzy and very listenable, instead of confusing.


“Global Flatline” is Aborted’s first full length in 4 years, and was a much needed shot in the arm for their brand of death, following their less than impressive “Strychnine.213” released in 2008.  In the meantime, Aborted released the “Coronary Reconstruction” EP in 2010 that includes the tracks “Coronary Reconstruction,” “From a Tepid Whiff” and “Grime,” which are all present on “Global Flatline,” the first album to feature new members Ken Bedene on drums, and Michael Wilson on guitar (both formerly of Abigail Williams), as well as the addition of new bassist J.B. Van Der Wal.   They certainly don’t waste anyone’s time with this album, and from the moment you push play, its pure death metal bliss!  The album begins with a the brutal title track that is surely to please the listener immediately, and the rest of the album contains NO FILLER to ensure that this album is the band’s punch to your face to start off 2012.


Highlights of the album include “Of Scabs and Boils,” “The Kallinger Theory,” and “Eructations of Carnal Artistry” as well as the mid-tempo, creepy stomp of “Expurgation Euphoria” (very reminicent of old Morbid Angel).  Present on this album are also a number of guest appearances:

  • Julien Truchan (Benighted) on “The Origin of Disease”
  • Jason Netherton (Misery Index) on “Grime”
  • Trevor Strnad (The Black Dahlia Murder) on “Vermicular, Obscene, Obese”
  • Keijo Niinimaa (Rotten Sound) on “Our Father, Who Art of Feces”


I can’t say enough great things about this album really, as  Aborted have no doubt set the bar high for metal albums of 2012.  If this album is a sign of what the rest of the year will be as far as metal albums, well then we are in for a fantastic year!!!


Doug Palmitier – 6-6-6



Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.