The Melvins have announced they have reunited with original drummer Mike Dillard for their forthcoming LP ‘Tres Cabrones’. The band, who celebrated their 30th anniversary earlier this summer, has also announced the twelve-track record will be released on November 5th via Ipecac records. The rest of the line-up for ‘Tres Cabrones’ features the familiar faces of vocalist/guitarist Buzz Osborne, with sticksman Dale Crover (who replaced Dillard back in 1984) switching to bass duties. Dillard who started with the band back in 1983 has previously contributed to the band’s back catalogue,  including last year’s four-track EP ‘1983’, as well as the 2005 collection of remastered demos entitled ‘Mangled Demos from 1983’. Buzz Osborne had the following to say:


“Tres Cabrones’ is as close as we’re willing to get to the Melvins 1983 line-up,” stated Osborne, “The best part is it’s all new songs. I specifically wrote tunes that would be good for these guys to play and it worked out great. We had no interest in rehashing tunes we wrote 30 years ago and chose instead to simply create NEW songs. It worked out perfectly.”

Thanks for dropping in!

If you’re here maybe you should think of adding Zero Tolerance Magazine to your arsenal of regular reading? We offer a 3-issue trial subscription to whet your appetite.